Canada's Top Ten was established in 2001 by TIFF to honor excellence in short and feature length contemporary Canadian cinema, reinforcing TIFF’s commitment to Canadian filmmakers. The feature and short selection are each chosen by a panel of filmmakers and industry professionals from across Canada. 

In the past years, Canada's Top Ten has become a highly anticipated initiative, bringing Canada’s most acclaimed filmmakers and eager audiences together for an exciting cinematic experience. The creativity, diversity and innovation of these films and filmmakers keep audiences coming back for more. Last year’s Canada’s Top Ten feature selection included Sarah Polley’s TAKE THIS WALTZ, Philippe Falardeau’s Oscar nominated MONSIEUR LAZHAR and Nathan Morlando’s EDWIN BOYD, awarded the City of Toronto Award for Best Canadian Feature Film and the SKYY Vodka Award for Best Canadian First Feature Film, respectively, at last year’s Toronto International Film Festival.  The Top Ten shorts included Philippe Baylaucq’s ORA, Sophie Goyette’s LA RONDE and Ian Harnarine’s DOUBLES WITH SLIGHT PEPPER, awarded the Best Canadian Short Film at last year’s Toronto International Film Festival. 

Selected films will be publicly announced on December 4, 2012. From January 4-13, 2013, the programme will include screenings at TIFF Bell Lightbox of each selected film and related industry programming. The programme also travels across Canada to theatres in cities such as Vancouver, Edmonton, Ottawa and Montreal.