CMPA Producer's Award

Skip to schedule and film credits

Celebrating vision and entrepreneurship, the Canadian Media Production Association's Feature Film Producer's Award is presented annually to an outstanding independent Canadian producer with a Canadian feature at the Festival.

The award recognizes the creativity and tenacity of Canadian producers while promoting the Canadian film and television industry as a whole. It is presented on the opening day of the Festival and comes with a cash prize of $10,000 CAD.

Congratulations to this year's winner, Jennifer Jonas (Gerontophilia)!

Session Note

The Nominees for the 2013 CMPA Feature Film Producer's Award were:

Barry Avrich, Filthy Gorgeous: The Bob Guccione Story
Production Company: Melbar Entertainment Group Inc.
Filmography: Showstopper: The Theatrical Life of Garth Drabinsky, Unauthorized: The Harvey Weinstein Project, An Unlikely Obsession, The Tempest, Caesar and Cleopatra, Amerika Idol, A Criminal Mind.

Roger Frappier, The Grand Seduction
Production Company: Max Films Inc. Filmography: L’Autre Maison (Another House), The Day of the Crows, Liverpool, Marécages, À l’origine d’un cri, Dédé, à travers les brumes.

Jennifer Jonas, Gerontophilia
Production Company: New Real Films
Filmography: I’m Yours, Trigger, Leslie, My Name is Evil, Otto; or, Up With Dead People, Toronto Stories, All Hat, Monkey Warfare, Childstar, Sugar, The Perfect Son.

Nicholas de Pencier, Watermark
Production Company: Mercury Films
Filmography: One Week, Act of God, Manufactured Landscapes, The Hockey Nomad, The True Meaning of Pictures, The Holier it Gets, Let It Come Down: The Life of Paul Bowles, The Uncles.

Nicholas Tabarrok, The Art of the Steal
Production Company: Darius Films
Filmography: A Beginner’s Guide to Endings, Welcome Back Satan, Defendor, Cooper’s Camera, Down to the Dirt, Surviving Crooked Lake, Jack and Jill VS. The World, Weirdsville, A Lobster Tale, The Life and Hard Times of Guy Terrifico.